My Freedom


You watch me cold-blooded like a prey,

As I swirl around however I may…

I think beyond labels and conformity

A wanderlust fueled by my inner curiosity.

Why you see me with a different lens

Measured by my degree of adherence

To rules, rights and wrongs

Anything that establishes to where I belong

O Freedom!!  Why have you left me astray?

I followed my heart, no malice, never did I betray

My roots, my values, are within me like glue

My ways and wants are different and new

Yes that’s the freedom no one could deny

Of purpose and hopes so high

I am not a slave, and don’t deserve a spy

to be haunted  and be beset by comparisons

I am free to reach new skies and horizons

I am resolute, firm and stout

Free from the clutches, brave and proud

O mother, my allegiance to you I forever owe

can never be understood  whose thoughts are shallow

O loyal guards of whatever you are

Of society, of spirituality or any genre

I rise above the ashes of my pain

To paint my dreams; my freedom I reclaim

 

Leave a comment